Official MGC Logo

MGC was formerly known as “The Federated Garden Clubs of Michigan, Inc.” We got our new name on June 3, 2005. Following is the story of our history:

Founded June 30, 1931, Michigan Garden Clubs, Inc. (MGC) had its origin in the strong feelings of Ann Arbor Garden Club members that a state federation with membership in a national organization could exert more influence to conserve and protect Michigan’s natural beauty and improve the quality of members’ gardens. Mrs. James Inglis of that club and Mrs. Renville Wheat of the Little Garden Club of Grosse Pointe conferred with officers of the National Council of State Garden Clubs, Inc. and attended a National Convention.

Because of their enthusiasm, a committee was formed and invitations were sent to known garden clubs in Michigan. Forty representatives from fifteen of those clubs registered at a meeting in the Women’s League Building, Ann Arbor. On June 30, 1931, The Michigan Garden Clubs of Michigan, Inc. had its beginning. A constitution was adopted. Its objectives were:

  • To coordinate the interests of the garden clubs of the state and bring them into closer relations of mutual helpfulness by association, conference, and correspondence.
  • To cooperate with educational agencies furthering the interests of gardening, conservation, and highway improvement.

Michigan accepted the invitation to join the National Council of State Garden Clubs, Inc. March 17, 1932. There were, then, 34 clubs with a membership of 1800. There are now 189 clubs currently with 7141 members.

History of Conventions

The first Annual Meeting was held in Grand Rapids, in May, 1932. Mrs. Joseph H. Brewer was the first president and served three years. She was Regional Vice-President (Regional Director) of National Council from 1933-1937. She was made Honorary President of The Federated Garden Clubs of Michigan, Inc. in 1935 and was elected President of National Council in 1941. It is through the wisdom, foresight, and efforts of these first clubs that the policies and objectives which were established remain the foundation of the organization as we know it today. Many dedicated women have followed their ideas and aims. Michigan Garden Clubs, Inc. has had seventy-six years of outstanding service.

See list of past conventions.

Michigan Garden Clubs, Inc. Past Presidents

  • 2017-2019 Carol Brodbeck
  • 2015-2017 Marilyn Mcintosh
  • 2013-2015 Deannie Picciotti
  • 2011-2013 Nancy Stark
  • 2009-2011 Lynn Dinvald
  • 2007-2009 Dolores Stouwie
  • 2005-2007 Florence Smith
  • *2003-2005 Connie Snell
  • 2001-2003 Mary Lou Fox
  • 1999-2001 Sharon Yantis
  • *1997-1999 Jean Moran
  • 1995-1997 Miriam Sanford
  • 1993-1995 Nancy Goulette
  • 1991-1993 Marge McGoff
  • 1989-1991 Lyn Butus (Mrs. Peter H.)
  • 1987-1989 Nancy Passfield (Mrs. John F.)
  • *1985-1987 Josephine R. Russell
  • 1983-1985 Mrs. William Heermann
  • *1981-1983 Mrs. John Schaeffer
  • *1979-1981 Mrs. Denton B. Emmert
  • 1977-1979 Mrs. Jack E. Gray
  • *1975-1977 Mrs. George Petrides
  • *1973-1975 Mrs. William J. Sullivan
  • 1971-1973 Mrs. Bernard F. Oakes
  • *1969-1971 Mrs. Robert C. Palmer
  • *1967-1969 Mrs. Claude G. Wirick
  • *1965-1967 Mrs. Donald B. Smith
  • *1963-1965 Mrs. Charles T. Campbell
  • *1961-1963 Mrs. John R. Hoinville
  • *1959-1961 Mrs. A. George Coulton
  • 1957-1959 Mrs. Phyllis M. Evans
  • *1955-1957 Mrs. Frederick J. Schumann
  • *1953-1955 Mrs. Robert P. Briggs
  • *1951-1953 Mrs. S. L. Wing
  • *1949-1951 Mrs. Jamie Johnson
  • *1947-1949 Mrs. Charles A. Shierson
  • *1945-1947 Mrs. Earl W. DeLano
  • *1943-1945 Mrs. Thomas Y. Leonard
  • *1941-1943 Mrs. William L. Wilson
  • *1939-1941 Mrs. Clarence W. Avery
  • *1937-1939 Mrs. J. Shirley Symons
  • *1935-1937 Mrs. Ormand E. Hunt
  • *1934-1935 Mrs. H. B. Earhart
  • *1931-1934 Mrs. Joseph H. Brewer

National Presidents from Michigan Garden Clubs, Inc.

  • *1969-1971 Mrs. William H. Barton (21st)
  • *1959-1961 Mrs. Jamie Johnson (16th)
  • *1941-1943 Mrs. Joseph H. Brewer (7th)

Central Region Directors from Michigan Garden Clubs, Inc.

  • 2011-2013 Florence Smith
  • 1997-1999 Nancy Goulette
  • 1985-1987 Mrs. Jack E. Gray
  • *1969-1971 Mrs. Claude G. Wirick
  • *1955-1957 Mrs. William H. Barton
  • *1945-1947 Mrs. Thomas T. Leonard
  • *1933-1937 Mrs. Joseph H. Brewer

* Deceased